Writer’s Achievement Diary- 23 July 2017

Mon 17/07/2017

  1. Revised 2 major plotlines reported as problematic by pre-alphas (equivalent to 2 achievements)
  2. Determined the overall shape of revision required up to chap 30

Tue 18/07/2017

  1. Resolved 1 loose plot-point in iteration 1
  2. Worked through to the end of book 1 and tagged down chapters for expansion/revision after collapsing of scenes

Wed 19/07/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 14 (partially written)

Thu 20/07/2017

  1. Fleshed out scene 1, chap 14 fully
  2. Chap 14 done

Fri 21/07/2017

  1. Rounded out a plot point on male MC’s plot arc on motivation/goal
  2. Worked out very rough gist of scene 1, chap 20

Sat 22/07/2017

  1. Scene 2, chap 37 done
  2. Scene 1, chap 20
  3. Scene 2, chap 20 revised based on scene 1 event sequence

Sun 23/07/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 39
  2. Rough gist of scene 2, chap 39 done
  3. 13 grids filled for Ma Fei

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Finish 2nd iteration of outline.

Week Tally: 1.8 achievement on average on weekdays and 3 on weekends

Sum story progress: Finished 2nd iteration on book 1 outline as set in goal

Against last week:  Done a bit more on weekends but otherwise on par

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 16 July 2017

Mon 10/07/2017

Real life and unexpected Internet connection loss held me up.

Tue 11/07/2017

  1. Finished Chap 32
  2. Fleshed out Scene 1, chap 33 (previously a floating scene)
  3. 20 grids filled for Sin Sin

Wed 12/07/2017

  1. Rough gist for scene 2, chap 33
  2. Scene 1, chap 34

Thu 13/07/2017

  1. Scene 2, chap 33

Fri 14/07/2017

  1. Expanded scene 1, chap 34
  2. Sorted out coming plot point for chap 35
  3. Chap 34 done

Sat 15/07/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 35
  2. Chap 35 done

Sun 16/07/2017

  1. Started 2nd iteration of outline, collapsed and moved around some scenes (equivalent to 2 achievements)
  2. Rough gist for new chapter featuring cousin more (2nd iteration)

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Finish book 1 outlining (3.5 chapters).

Week Tally: 1.8 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends

Sum story progress: 3.5 chapters. Also, started on 2nd iteration.

Against last week:  Substantial Improvement from last week on weekdays and mild improvement on weekends

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 9 July 2017

Mon 3/07/2017

Took a break

Tue 4/07/2017

  1. Amended chap 25

Wed 5/07/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 26
  2. Chap 26 done

Thu 6/07/2017

  1. Scene 2, chap 27 partially written

Fri 7/07/2017

Train problem, took a break today

Sat 8/07/2017

  1. 20 grids filled for Lee Won

Sun 9/07/2017

  1. 21 grids filled for Lee Won (goal=20)
  2. 20 grids filled for Chan Sarn
  3. 20 grids filled for Chan Lok

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Finish book 1 outlining (5 chapters).

Week Tally: 0.8 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends

Sum story progress: more than 1.5, less than 2 Chapters

Against last week: Stuck so decided to turn to character grids.  Fair progress given the various circumstances.  

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 2 July 2017

Mon 26/06/2017

  1. Decided on rough gist of chaps 21-25, 31-35
  2. Scene 1, chap 21 (half)
  3. A floating scene but will definitely be incorporated somewhere in these 10 chapters

Tue 27/06/2017

  1. Completed scene 1, chap 21
  2. Chap 21 done
  3. Pegged down the floating scene
  4. Decided on rough gist of Chap 31
  5. Scene 1, chap 22
  6. Chap 22 done
  7. Plotted out main gist of chap 23

Wed 28/06/2017

  1. Expanded scene 2, chap 22
  2. Rough gist of chap 24
  3. Very rough gist for chap 25
  4. Scene 1, chap 23

Thu 29/06/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 24
  2. Chap 24 done

Fri 30/06/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 25
  2. Chap 25 done

Sat 1/07/2017

Took a break to refresh self

Sun 2/07/2017

Took a break to refresh self

At this stage, I had only 10 more chapters to outline and I was rushing for the finishing line as they say.

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Up to Chapter 25 outlined (5 chapters).

Week Tally: 3.6 achievement on average on weekdays and 0 on weekends

Sum story progress: 5 Chapters

Against last week: Really pushed myself on the weekdays because I had monthly goal set as well

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 25 June 2017

Mon 19/06/2017

  1. Decided on how to proceed by switching pace of alternating narration

Tue 20/06/2017

  1. Amended scene 2 of chap 20

Wed 21/06/2017

  1. Removing 2 chapters’ worth of scenes from chaps 11-20 to fix up timing bug

Thu 22/06/2017

  1. Completely restructured sequence of scenes by switching the order of narrative alternation
  2. Scene 1, chap 9

Fri 23/06/2017

  1. Scene 2, chap 9
  2. Main gist of chap 10

Sat 24/06/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 10
  2. Chap 10 done

Sun 25/06/2017

  1. Scene reorganisation between chap 10 and 21
  2. Expanded scene 1, chap 21 (but stuck)
  3. Noted down crucial plot points for chaps 21-25, 31-35 and early ideas

Some time between last recorded period and this one, I encountered a major stumble block which was the events were occurring out of sequence in the book. So basically this entire week was spent correcting this.

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Up to Chapter 20 outlined (1 chapter).

Week Tally: 1.4 achievement on average on weekdays and 2.5 on weekends

Sum story progress: a bit over 2 chapters (redid one chapter from last week)

Against last week: Got rid of cold so speed picking up again.

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 18 June 2017

Mon 12/06/2017

Long weekend plus still down with cold so took a day off.

Tue 13/06/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 20

Wed 14/06/2017

Doc appointment day, took it off

Thu 15/06/2017

Resting at home to recover from sickness

Fri 16/06/2017

  1. Relocated part of a scene to later

Sat 17/06/2017

  1. Chap 20 done

Sun 18/06/2017

Took a day off, indecision over how to proceed after catching a bug in timing of events.

Week Goal: Up to Chapter 20 outlined (1 chapter).

Week Tally: 0.4 achievement on average on weekdays and 0.5 on weekends

Sum story progress: 1 chapter

Against last week: Still recovering from cold so don’t expect much progress. But did manage this week’s goal so that’s fair progress.

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 11 June 2017

Mon 5/06/2017

1. Chap 17 done

Tue 6/06/2017

1. Scene 1, chap 18

Wed 7/06/2017

1. Chap 18 done

Thu 8/06/2017

1. Expanded scene 2 of Chap 18, tagged on a little more events to fill it up so that it can stand on its own
2. Scene 1, chap 19

Fri 9/06/2017

1. Rough gist of rest of chap 19

Sat 10/06/2017

1. Refinement of scene 3, chap 19

Sun 11/06/2017

Down with cold. Took a day off.

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. Up to Chapter 20 outlined (3.5 chapters).
Week Tally: 1.2 achievement on average on weekdays and 1 on weekends
Sum story progress: 2.5 chapters
Against last week: The cold interfered with my progress but it’s still fair, didn’t reach the assigned week goal but moved ahead compared to last week.

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 4 June 2017

Mon 29/05/2017

  1. Settled on ages for 2 main male characters
  2. Re-order a bunch of scenes between chaps 12-15
  3. Readjusted content of scenes in chap 13
  4. Idea seeds on chaps 16, scene 1 of chap 17

Tue 30/05/2017

  1. 20 grids filled for Chan Lok
  2. Vague idea for scene 1, chap 16

Wed 31/05/2017

  1. 22 grids filled for Si Ma Gun (out of goal of 20)

Thu 1/06/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 16

Fri 2/06/2017

  1. Chap 16 done

Sat 3/06/2017

  1. Sorted out the ‘ending’ of chaps 16-20 block
  2. Working out the rough gist for chap 17
  3. Scene 1, chap 17

Sun 4/06/2017

  1. Started on list of easily pronounced Chinese characters to be used for naming (sizable surname list and 2 full names, first names to be done)
  2. Joted down notes on chap 18/19 (floating scene for now)

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends. 5 Chapters outlined

Week Tally: 1.8 achievement on average on weekdays and 2.5 on weekends

Sum story progress: 1.5 chapters and fair progress on 2 main characters

Against last week: Now that I switched to the other plot-line I feel a little stuck as I needed to get back into it.

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 28 May 2017

Mon 22/05/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 46 done
  2. Scene 2, chap 46 outlined very roughly

Tue 23/05/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 47 partially outlined

Wed 24/05/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 47 changed completely
  2. Chap 47 done
  3. Scene 1, chap 48 done

Thu 25/05/2017

  1. Changed ending of scene 1, chap 48
  2. Scene 2, chap 48
  3. Scene 3, chap 48 in main gist
  4. Rounded out scene 3, Chap 48 done

Fri 26/05/2017

  1. Vague idea of a subsequent happening

Sat 27/05/2017

  1. Cleared out floating scenes that belong to book 2
  2. Scene 1, chap 49; 3. Chap 49 done

Sun 28/05/2017

  1. Scene 1, chap 50
  2. Chap 50 done

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends

Week Tally: 2.2 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends

Sum story progress: 5 chapters.

Against last week: Taking it leisurely after ‘big push’ last week but still making good progress.

Writer’s Achievement Diary- 21 May 17

Mon 15/05/2017

1. Finished off scene 2 of Chap 27
2. Figured out main gist of scene 2, chap 28
3. Made decision to relocate another side-plot section
4: Sketched out scene 2 of Chap 28 from scratch

Tue 16/05/2017

1. Decided on general shape of events for Chap 29-30 (equivalent of 4 achievements)

Wed 17/05/2017

1. Tidied up chap 29-30 in comprehensive form (equivalent of 4 achievements)

Thu 18/05/2017

1. Came up with an important flaw in Sin Sin’s character
2. Came up with rough idea of book 1 end
3. Rounded out scene 2 of chap 30
4. Fleshed out scene 1 of chap 41
5. Very rough idea on what goes into scene 2, chap 41; 6. Ironed out gist of main event in chap 42

Fri 19/05/2017

1. Relocated one scene as floating scene
2. Fleshed out new scene 2 of Chap 41 from scratch
3. Scene 1, Chap 42 done
4. Scene 2, Chap 42 done
5. Scene 1, Chap 43 done
6. Chap 43 done

Sat 20/05/2017

1. Scene 1, Chap 44 done
2. Scene 2, Chap 44 rough gist done
3. Fleshed out Scene 2, Chap 44
4. Scene 1, Chap 45
5. Chap 45 done

Sun 21/05/2017

Took a break since finished monthly goal already!

Week Goal: 1 achievement on average on weekdays and 2 on weekends

Week Tally: 4.8 achievement on average on weekdays and 2.5 on weekends

Sum story progress: 8 Chapters!

Against last week: Speed really picking up this week on weekdays!